跳转到主内容

进程沙盒化

Chromium的一个关键安全特性是,进程可以在沙盒中执行。 沙盒通过限制对大多数系统资源的访问来减少恶意代码可能造成的伤害 — 沙盒化的进程只能自由使用CPU周期和内存。 为了执行需要额外权限的操作,沙盒处的进程通过专用通信渠道将任务下放给更大权限的进程。

在Chromium中,沙盒化应用于主进程以外的大多数进程。 其中包括渲染器进程,以及功能性进程,如音频服务、GPU 服务和网络服务。

查阅Chromium的 沙箱设计文档 了解更多信息。

Electron沙盒化策略

Electron带有一个混合的沙盒环境,意味着沙盒化进程可以和有权限的进程一起运行。 默认情况下,渲染器进程未被沙盒化,但功能性进程是被沙盒化的。 注意,就像在Chromium中一样,主 (浏览器) 进程是有特权的且无法被沙盒化。

从历史上看,这种混合沙盒方法之所以成立,是因为在渲染器中提供Node.js对于应用开发人员来说是一个非常强大的工具。 不幸的是,这一特性同时也是一个巨大的安全漏洞。

从理论上讲,对于只显示可信代码的桌面应用程序来说,未沙盒化的渲染器不是问题,但它们使 Electron 在显示不受信任的 Web 内容时的安全性低于 Chromium。 然而,即使据称可信的代码也可能是危险的 — 在远程加载的网站上有无数恶意行为者可以使用的攻击途径。稍微举几个例子:从跨站脚本到内容注入再到中间人攻击。 因此,我们建议在大多数非常谨慎的情况下启用渲染器沙盒化。

注意,在 GitHub Issue 中仍在讨论是否要默认开启渲染进程的沙盒化。 详情可见: #28466

Electron 中的沙盒行为

在 Electron 中沙盒进程 大部分地 表现都与 Chromium 差不多, 但因为介面是 Node.js 的关系 Electron 有一些额外的概念需要考虑。

渲染器进程

当 Electron 中的渲染进程被沙盒化时,它们的行为与常规 Chrome 渲染器一样。 一个沙盒化的渲染器不会有一个 Node.js 环境。

因此,在沙盒中,渲染进程只能透过 进程间通讯 (inter-process communication, IPC) 委派任务给主进程的方式, 来执行需权限的任务 (例如:文件系统交互,对系统进行更改或生成子进程) 。

Preload 脚本

为了让渲染进程能与主进程通信,附属于沙盒化的渲染进程的 preload 脚本中仍可使用一部分以 Polyfill 形式实现的 Node.js API。 有一个与 Node 中类似的 require 函数提供了出来,但只能载入 Electron 和 Node 内置模块的一个子集:

此外,以下 Node.js 基础对象也填充到了 preload 脚本的全局上下文中:

require 函数只是一个功能有限的 Ployfill 实现,并不支持把 preload 脚本拆成多个文件然后作为 CommonJS 模块 来加载。 若需要拆分 preload 脚本的代码,可以使用 webpackParcel 等打包工具。

注意,因为 preload 脚本的运行环境本质上比沙盒化渲染进程的拥有更高的特权,除非开启了 contextIsolation,否则高特权的 API 仍有可能被泄漏给渲染进程中的不信任代码。

配置沙盒

为指定进程启用沙盒化

在 Electron 中,可设置 BrowserWindow 构造函数的传参 sandbox: true,来启用此进程的沙盒化。

// main.js
app.whenReady().then(() => {
const win = new BrowserWindow({
webPreferences: {
sandbox: true
}
})
win.loadURL('https://google.com')
})

全局启用沙盒

你也可以调用 app.enableSandbox API 来强制沙盒化所有渲染器。 注意,此 API 必须在应用的 ready 事件之前调用。

// main.js
app.enableSandbox()
app.whenReady().then(() => {
// no need to pass `sandbox: true` since `app.enableSandbox()` was called.
const win = new BrowserWindow()
win.loadURL('https://google.com')
})

禁用 Chromium 的沙盒(仅测试)

你也可以指定 --no-sandbox 命令行参数来完全禁用 Chromium 的沙盒功能,这会使沙盒对所有进程失效(包括工具进程)。 我们强烈建议你只针对测试用途开启此标志,并且 永远 不要用于生产环境。

注意,sandbox: true 选项也会同时禁用渲染进程中的 Node.js 环境。

渲染不可信内容的注意事项

尽管已经有一些成功案例(例如 Beaker 浏览器),但在 Electron 中渲染不受信任的内容仍有未知的风险。 我们的目标是尽可能达到与 Chrome 中沙盒化的内容一样的安全性,但由于一些现实因素还没法做到:

  1. 我们不像 Chromium 团队那样在产品安全方面有专属的资源与专业知识。 虽然已经尽可能地继承 Chromium 中的一切,并且尽快响应安全问题,但缺少 Chromium 可调动的那些资源,我们做不到和它一样安全。
  2. Chrome 的一些安全特性(例如安全浏览和证书透明度)依赖于中心化授权和专属服务器,这些都超出了 Electron 项目的目标。 因此我们在 Electron 中禁用了它们,同时也损失了它们带来的安全性。
  3. Chromium 只有一个,但基于 Electron 构建的应用却成千上万,并且千差万别。 这些差异带来了太多的可能性,很难在各种特殊的应用场景下都保证平台的安全。
  4. 我们没法向终端用户直接推送安全更新,只能靠应用供应商更新依赖的 Electron 版本,来让更新覆盖到用户。

虽然我们会尽可能将 Chromium 的安全修复应用到老版本的 Electron 中,但没法保证每一个修复都能移植过去。 为了保证安全,最好的办法还是始终使用最新的稳定版 Electron。

Skip to main content

Process Sandboxing

One key security feature in Chromium is that processes can be executed within a sandbox. The sandbox limits the harm that malicious code can cause by limiting access to most system resources — sandboxed processes can only freely use CPU cycles and memory. In order to perform operations requiring additional privilege, sandboxed processes use dedicated communication channels to delegate tasks to more privileged processes.

In Chromium, sandboxing is applied to most processes other than the main process. This includes renderer processes, as well as utility processes such as the audio service, the GPU service and the network service.

See Chromium's Sandbox design document for more information.

Electron's sandboxing policies

Electron comes with a mixed sandbox environment, meaning sandboxed processes can run alongside privileged ones. By default, renderer processes are not sandboxed, but utility processes are. Note that as in Chromium, the main (browser) process is privileged and cannot be sandboxed.

Historically, this mixed sandbox approach was established because having Node.js available in the renderer is an extremely powerful tool for app developers. Unfortunately, this feature is also an equally massive security vulnerability.

Theoretically, unsandboxed renderers are not a problem for desktop applications that only display trusted code, but they make Electron less secure than Chromium for displaying untrusted web content. However, even purportedly trusted code may be dangerous — there are countless attack vectors that malicious actors can use, from cross-site scripting to content injection to man-in-the-middle attacks on remotely loaded websites, just to name a few. For this reason, we recommend enabling renderer sandboxing for the vast majority of cases under an abundance of caution.

Note that there is an active discussion in the issue tracker to enable renderer sandboxing by default. See #28466) for details.

Sandbox behaviour in Electron

Sandboxed processes in Electron behave mostly in the same way as Chromium's do, but Electron has a few additional concepts to consider because it interfaces with Node.js.

Renderer processes

When renderer processes in Electron are sandboxed, they behave in the same way as a regular Chrome renderer would. A sandboxed renderer won't have a Node.js environment initialized.

Therefore, when the sandbox is enabled, renderer processes can only perform privileged tasks (such as interacting with the filesystem, making changes to the system, or spawning subprocesses) by delegating these tasks to the main process via inter-process communication (IPC).

Preload scripts

In order to allow renderer processes to communicate with the main process, preload scripts attached to sandboxed renderers will still have a polyfilled subset of Node.js APIs available. A require function similar to Node's require module is exposed, but can only import a subset of Electron and Node's built-in modules:

In addition, the preload script also polyfills certain Node.js primitives as globals:

Because the require function is a polyfill with limited functionality, you will not be able to use CommonJS modules to separate your preload script into multiple files. If you need to split your preload code, use a bundler such as webpack or Parcel.

Note that because the environment presented to the preload script is substantially more privileged than that of a sandboxed renderer, it is still possible to leak privileged APIs to untrusted code running in the renderer process unless contextIsolation is enabled.

Configuring the sandbox

Enabling the sandbox for a single process

In Electron, renderer sandboxing can be enabled on a per-process basis with the sandbox: true preference in the BrowserWindow constructor.

// main.js
app.whenReady().then(() => {
const win = new BrowserWindow({
webPreferences: {
sandbox: true
}
})
win.loadURL('https://google.com')
})

Enabling the sandbox globally

If you want to force sandboxing for all renderers, you can also use the app.enableSandbox API. Note that this API has to be called before the app's ready event.

// main.js
app.enableSandbox()
app.whenReady().then(() => {
// no need to pass `sandbox: true` since `app.enableSandbox()` was called.
const win = new BrowserWindow()
win.loadURL('https://google.com')
})

Disabling Chromium's sandbox (testing only)

You can also disable Chromium's sandbox entirely with the --no-sandbox CLI flag, which will disable the sandbox for all processes (including utility processes). We highly recommend that you only use this flag for testing purposes, and never in production.

Note that the sandbox: true option will still disable the renderer's Node.js environment.

A note on rendering untrusted content

Rendering untrusted content in Electron is still somewhat uncharted territory, though some apps are finding success (e.g. Beaker Browser). Our goal is to get as close to Chrome as we can in terms of the security of sandboxed content, but ultimately we will always be behind due to a few fundamental issues:

  1. We do not have the dedicated resources or expertise that Chromium has to apply to the security of its product. We do our best to make use of what we have, to inherit everything we can from Chromium, and to respond quickly to security issues, but Electron cannot be as secure as Chromium without the resources that Chromium is able to dedicate.
  2. Some security features in Chrome (such as Safe Browsing and Certificate Transparency) require a centralized authority and dedicated servers, both of which run counter to the goals of the Electron project. As such, we disable those features in Electron, at the cost of the associated security they would otherwise bring.
  3. There is only one Chromium, whereas there are many thousands of apps built on Electron, all of which behave slightly differently. Accounting for those differences can yield a huge possibility space, and make it challenging to ensure the security of the platform in unusual use cases.
  4. We can't push security updates to users directly, so we rely on app vendors to upgrade the version of Electron underlying their app in order for security updates to reach users.

While we make our best effort to backport Chromium security fixes to older versions of Electron, we do not make a guarantee that every fix will be backported. Your best chance at staying secure is to be on the latest stable version of Electron.