跳到主内容

crashReporter

将崩溃日志提交给远程服务器

进程: Main, Renderer

以下是一个设置Electron自动提交崩溃日志到远程服务器的示例:

const { crashReporter } = require('electron')
crashReporter.start({ submitURL: 'https://your-domain.com/url-to-submit' })

构建一个用于接受和处理崩溃日志的服务,你需要以下工程

或者使用第三方托管的解决办法:

崩溃报告在上传之前会临时存储在应用程序的用户数据目录下 (在Windows和Mac上称为“Crashpad”,在Linux上称为“Crash reports”)。 在启动崩溃报告器之前,你可以通过调用 app.setPath('crashDumps', '/path/to/crashes') 来覆盖该目录。

在 Windows 和 macOS 上,Electron 使用 crashpad 来监视和报告崩溃情况。 在 Linux上,Electron 使用breakpad。 这个实现细节是由Chromium驱动的,将来可能会发生变化。 尤其,crashpad是新出的,可能最终会取代所有平台的breakpad。

关于Linux上的Node子进程的说明#

如果你在Linux上使用的是Node.js的 child_process 模块,并且想要在这些进程中报告崩溃信息,那么需要采取额外的步骤来在子进程中正确初始化崩溃报告器。 在 Mac 或 Windows 上就没有这个问题,因为这两个平台使用的Crashpad会自动监视子进程。

由于Node的子进程中无法使用 require('electron') ,那么在Node的子进程中的 process 对象中的以下 API 是可用的。 请注意,在Linux上,每个Node子进程的 breakpad 崩溃报告器都有自己独立的实例。 这与渲染器子进程不同,其具有"存根" breakpad 报告器,将信息返回到主进程进行报告。

process.crashReporter.start(options)#

crashReporter.start()

process.crashReporter.getParameters()#

crashReporter.getParameters()

process.crashReporter.addExtraParameter(key, value)#

crashReporter.addExtraParameter(key, value)

process.crashReporter.removeExtraParameter(key)#

crashReporter.removeExtraParameter(key)

方法#

crashReporter 模块具有以下方法:

crashReporter.start(options)#

  • 选项 对象
    • submitURL String (可选) - 崩溃报告将以POST的方式发送给这个URL。 必填 除非uploadToServerfalse
    • productName String (可选) - 默认为 app.name.
    • companyName String (可选) 已废弃 - 已废弃别名为{ globalExtra: { _companyName: ... } }
    • uploadToServer Boolean (可选) - 是否将崩溃报告发送给服务器。 如果为 false,崩溃报告将被收集并存储在崩溃目录中,但不会上传。 默认值为 true
    • ignoreSystemCrashHandler Boolean (可选) - 如果为true,在主进程中生成的崩溃将不会转发给系统崩溃处理器。 默认值为 false.
    • rateLimit Boolean (可选) macOS Windows - 如果为true,将上传的崩溃次数限制到 1次/小时。 默认值为 false.
    • compress Boolean (可选) - 如果为true,崩溃报告将压缩并上传,使用带有 Content-Encoding: gzip 的头部。 默认值为 true
    • extra Record<String, String> (可选) - 额外的字符串 键/值 注释,这些注释将与在主过程中生成的崩溃报告一起发送 只支持string值。 在子进程中产生的崩溃将不会在子进程生成的崩溃报告中包含这些额外的参数。 在子进程中调用 addExtrameter
    • globalExtra Record<String, String> (optional) - 额外的字符串 键/值 注释将与任意进程中生成的崩溃报告一起发送。 一旦崩溃报告器启动,这些注解就无法更改。 如果一个键在global extra参数和进程特定的额外参数中出现,那么全局的那个将优先使用。 默认情况下,会包括 productName 和应用程序版本,也就是Electron版本。

该方法必须在使用其他 崩溃报告器 的API之前调用。 一旦以这种方式初始化,crashpad处理器就会从所有随后创建的进程中收集崩溃信息。 崩溃报告器一旦启动就无法禁用了。

该方法应尽早地在app启动后调用,最好在 app.on('ready') 之前。 如果崩溃报告器没有在渲染器进程创建前初始化,那么渲染器进程将不会被崩溃报告器监视。

注意: 您可以通过使用process.crash()生成一个崩溃来测试崩溃报告器。

注意: ,如果您在第一次调用 start 后需要发送 附加的/更新的 extra 参数,你可以调用 addExtraParameter

注意: 通过 extra, globalExtra传递,或通过addExtrameter设置的参数对键和值的长度有限制。 键名最长是 39 字节,值不能超过 127 字节。 超过最大长度的键名将被直接忽略。 超过最大长度的键值将被截断。

注意: 此方法仅在主进程中可用。

crashReporter.getLastCrashReport()#

返回 CrashReport - 上次崩溃报告的日期和 ID。 只有已上传的崩溃报告会被返回;在磁盘上存在崩溃报告,除非上传了,否则不会返回。 如果没有上传的报告,则返回null

注意: 此方法仅在主进程中可用。

crashReporter.getUploadedReports()#

返回 CrashReport[]:

返回所有已上传的崩溃报告。 每个报告包含日期以及上传ID。

注意: 此方法仅在主进程中可用。

crashReporter.getUploadToServer()#

返回 Boolean - 是否应向服务器提交报告。 通过start 方法或 setUploadToServer设置。

注意: 此方法仅在主进程中可用。

crashReporter.setUploadToServer(uploadToServer)#

  • uploadToServer Boolean - 是否将报告提交到服务器。

通常由用户首选项控制。 如果在 start 被调用前调用,该方法将不起作用。

注意: 此方法仅在主进程中可用。

crashReporter.addExtraParameter(key, value)#

  • key String - 参数键,长度必须小于39个字节。
  • value String - 参数值,长度必须小于127个字节。

设置一个在发送崩溃报告时将额外包含的参数。 当调用 start 时, 在这里指定的值会和所有通过 extra 选项设置的值一起发送。

以这种方式添加的参数 (或通过 extra 参数到crashReporter.start)是特定于调用进程的。 在主进程中添加extra参数,这些参数将不会与渲染器或其它子进程的崩溃报告一起发送。 同样,在渲染器进程中添加的extra参数不会与其它渲染器进程或主进程中发生的崩溃一起发送。

注意: 参数对键和值的长度有限制。 键名最长是 39 字节,值不能超过 20320 字节。 超过最大长度的键名将被直接忽略。 超过最大长度的键值将被截断。

注意: 在linux上,超过 127 字节的值将被分割成多个键,每个长度为127个字节。 如下: addExtraParameter('foo', 'a'.repeat(130))将产生两个分块的键, foo__1foo__2,第一个将包含前127字节,第二个将包含剩余的3字节。 在你的崩溃报告后端,你应该以这种格式将键合在一起。

crashReporter.removeExtraParameter(key)#

  • key String - 参数键,长度必须小于39个字节。

从当前的参数集中删除一个额外的参数。 未来的崩溃中将不包含此参数。

crashReporter.getParameters()#

返回 Record<String, String> - 崩溃报告器当前的“extra”参数。

崩溃报告内容#

崩溃报告将发送下面 multipart/form-data POST 型的数据给 submitURL:

  • ver String - Electron 的版本.
  • platform String - 例如 'win32'.
  • process_type String - 例如 'renderer'.
  • guid String - 例如 '5e1286fc-da97-479e-918b-6bfb0c3d1c72'.
  • _version String - package.json 里的版本号.
  • _productName String - crashReporter options 对象中的产品名字
  • prod String - 基础产品的名称。 在这种情况下是Electron。
  • _companyName String - crashReporter options 对象中的公司名称
  • upload_file_minidump File - minidump 格式的崩溃报告
  • All level one properties of the extra object in the crashReporter options object.

Skip to main content

crashReporter

Submit crash reports to a remote server.

Process: Main, Renderer

The following is an example of setting up Electron to automatically submit crash reports to a remote server:

const { crashReporter } = require('electron')
crashReporter.start({ submitURL: 'https://your-domain.com/url-to-submit' })

For setting up a server to accept and process crash reports, you can use following projects:

Or use a 3rd party hosted solution:

Crash reports are stored temporarily before being uploaded in a directory underneath the app's user data directory (called 'Crashpad' on Windows and Mac, or 'Crash Reports' on Linux). You can override this directory by calling app.setPath('crashDumps', '/path/to/crashes') before starting the crash reporter.

On Windows and macOS, Electron uses crashpad to monitor and report crashes. On Linux, Electron uses breakpad. This is an implementation detail driven by Chromium, and it may change in future. In particular, crashpad is newer and will likely eventually replace breakpad on all platforms.

Note about Node child processes on Linux#

If you are using the Node.js child_process module and want to report crashes from those processes on Linux, there is an extra step you will need to take to properly initialize the crash reporter in the child process. This is not necessary on Mac or Windows, as those platforms use Crashpad, which automatically monitors child processes.

Since require('electron') is not available in Node child processes, the following APIs are available on the process object in Node child processes. Note that, on Linux, each Node child process has its own separate instance of the breakpad crash reporter. This is dissimilar to renderer child processes, which have a "stub" breakpad reporter which returns information to the main process for reporting.

process.crashReporter.start(options)#

See crashReporter.start().

process.crashReporter.getParameters()#

See crashReporter.getParameters().

process.crashReporter.addExtraParameter(key, value)#

See crashReporter.addExtraParameter(key, value).

process.crashReporter.removeExtraParameter(key)#

See crashReporter.removeExtraParameter(key).

Methods#

The crashReporter module has the following methods:

crashReporter.start(options)#

  • options Object
    • submitURL String (optional) - URL that crash reports will be sent to as POST. Required unless uploadToServer is false.
    • productName String (optional) - Defaults to app.name.
    • companyName String (optional) Deprecated - Deprecated alias for { globalExtra: { _companyName: ... } }.
    • uploadToServer Boolean (optional) - Whether crash reports should be sent to the server. If false, crash reports will be collected and stored in the crashes directory, but not uploaded. Default is true.
    • ignoreSystemCrashHandler Boolean (optional) - If true, crashes generated in the main process will not be forwarded to the system crash handler. Default is false.
    • rateLimit Boolean (optional) macOS Windows - If true, limit the number of crashes uploaded to 1/hour. Default is false.
    • compress Boolean (optional) - If true, crash reports will be compressed and uploaded with Content-Encoding: gzip. Default is true.
    • extra Record<String, String> (optional) - Extra string key/value annotations that will be sent along with crash reports that are generated in the main process. Only string values are supported. Crashes generated in child processes will not contain these extra parameters to crash reports generated from child processes, call addExtraParameter from the child process.
    • globalExtra Record<String, String> (optional) - Extra string key/value annotations that will be sent along with any crash reports generated in any process. These annotations cannot be changed once the crash reporter has been started. If a key is present in both the global extra parameters and the process-specific extra parameters, then the global one will take precedence. By default, productName and the app version are included, as well as the Electron version.

This method must be called before using any other crashReporter APIs. Once initialized this way, the crashpad handler collects crashes from all subsequently created processes. The crash reporter cannot be disabled once started.

This method should be called as early as possible in app startup, preferably before app.on('ready'). If the crash reporter is not initialized at the time a renderer process is created, then that renderer process will not be monitored by the crash reporter.

Note: You can test out the crash reporter by generating a crash using process.crash().

Note: If you need to send additional/updated extra parameters after your first call start you can call addExtraParameter.

Note: Parameters passed in extra, globalExtra or set with addExtraParameter have limits on the length of the keys and values. Key names must be at most 39 bytes long, and values must be no longer than 127 bytes. Keys with names longer than the maximum will be silently ignored. Key values longer than the maximum length will be truncated.

Note: This method is only available in the main process.

crashReporter.getLastCrashReport()#

Returns CrashReport - The date and ID of the last crash report. Only crash reports that have been uploaded will be returned; even if a crash report is present on disk it will not be returned until it is uploaded. In the case that there are no uploaded reports, null is returned.

Note: This method is only available in the main process.

crashReporter.getUploadedReports()#

Returns CrashReport[]:

Returns all uploaded crash reports. Each report contains the date and uploaded ID.

Note: This method is only available in the main process.

crashReporter.getUploadToServer()#

Returns Boolean - Whether reports should be submitted to the server. Set through the start method or setUploadToServer.

Note: This method is only available in the main process.

crashReporter.setUploadToServer(uploadToServer)#

  • uploadToServer Boolean - Whether reports should be submitted to the server.

This would normally be controlled by user preferences. This has no effect if called before start is called.

Note: This method is only available in the main process.

crashReporter.addExtraParameter(key, value)#

  • key String - Parameter key, must be no longer than 39 bytes.
  • value String - Parameter value, must be no longer than 127 bytes.

Set an extra parameter to be sent with the crash report. The values specified here will be sent in addition to any values set via the extra option when start was called.

Parameters added in this fashion (or via the extra parameter to crashReporter.start) are specific to the calling process. Adding extra parameters in the main process will not cause those parameters to be sent along with crashes from renderer or other child processes. Similarly, adding extra parameters in a renderer process will not result in those parameters being sent with crashes that occur in other renderer processes or in the main process.

Note: Parameters have limits on the length of the keys and values. Key names must be no longer than 39 bytes, and values must be no longer than 20320 bytes. Keys with names longer than the maximum will be silently ignored. Key values longer than the maximum length will be truncated.

Note: On linux values that are longer than 127 bytes will be chunked into multiple keys, each 127 bytes in length. E.g. addExtraParameter('foo', 'a'.repeat(130)) will result in two chunked keys foo__1 and foo__2, the first will contain the first 127 bytes and the second will contain the remaining 3 bytes. On your crash reporting backend you should stitch together keys in this format.

crashReporter.removeExtraParameter(key)#

  • key String - Parameter key, must be no longer than 39 bytes.

Remove an extra parameter from the current set of parameters. Future crashes will not include this parameter.

crashReporter.getParameters()#

Returns Record<String, String> - The current 'extra' parameters of the crash reporter.

Crash Report Payload#

The crash reporter will send the following data to the submitURL as a multipart/form-data POST:

  • ver String - The version of Electron.
  • platform String - e.g. 'win32'.
  • process_type String - e.g. 'renderer'.
  • guid String - e.g. '5e1286fc-da97-479e-918b-6bfb0c3d1c72'.
  • _version String - The version in package.json.
  • _productName String - The product name in the crashReporter options object.
  • prod String - Name of the underlying product. In this case Electron.
  • _companyName String - The company name in the crashReporter options object.
  • upload_file_minidump File - The crash report in the format of minidump.
  • All level one properties of the extra object in the crashReporteroptions object.